vCloud Director – 1.5 RHEL 5 Bug Hot CPU ADD – Quick Work Around

So I was doing some testing in vCloud Director 1.5 and noticed my RHEL Linux 5 vApp wasn’t able to enable Virtual CPU Hot add.

I went in and check my vCenter settings to see what the deal was:

Changing the setting on my vCenter updated it in my vCloud Director..

The alternative to having to do this workaround would be to change the template version within vCloud Director to RHEL version 6

You will notice the Virtual CPU hot add becomes available to check. I used this method on existing templates and it did not seem to break the templates.
However, if you are trying to create new templates of RHEL 6 with RHEL5 5 OS you may want to make sure your SCSI controller is correct. Again, changing it on my vApps seemed to make no impact to my OS currently installed.

It’s apparent bug to vCloud Director and @Lamw was kind enough to help me out.

About Chad King

I am an IT professional working in the industry for over 10 years. Starting in Microsoft Administration and Solutions I was also a free lance consultant for small businesses. Since I first saw virtualization I have always been fascinated by the concept. I currently specialize in VMware technology. I consult daily on many different types of VMware Solutions. I have experience in all domains related to virtualization and cloud solutions. From help desk, administration, engineering, implementation, and design allowing me to provide creative solutions with the understanding and gaps at all levels.

Posted on June 21, 2012, in Troubleshooting, vCloud, vSphere 5 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment