VMware Certified Professional on vSphere 5! – My Experience

On January 31, 2012 I officially passed my vSphere 5 exam and I am now a VCP 5. The test was very interesting indeed. You hear all sorts of rumors and things of that nature before you take it. I have made a post previously HERE. This pretty much covers everything you need to know. I don’t think I can discuss testing material but what I can tell you is learn a lot about the components of vSphere 5 clustering. Also learn about the Pros and the Cons centered around all the vSphere 5 features.

The test in of itself was actually harder than the vSphere 4 test I took over a year ago. I was also a lot more prepared and had some pressure on me to get it done because I wouldn’t have to pay for training. I would encourage that if any of you are familiar with vSphere 5, Been running it in a lab, and constantly learning new features, know vSphere 4.1 well, then I would go ahead and go take the test. Reason being is that you can end up spending more money waiting to take it later when you can possibly pass it now. Most companies are also going to be more willing to reimburse the expense of an exam then to actually spend money on an course.

Notice my comment on 4.1. Previous VCP were based off of 4.0 only. If you are really familiar with 4.1 then you already have a good lead into the knowledge base of 5.0. If you are a VMware partner then head to the partner portal and take some other course ware related to “What’s New” in vSphere 5. I did pretty good considering the amount of time and the pressure. I would definitely vote on subscribing to the latest VMware Certified Professional on vSphere 5 brown bags over at Cody Bunch’s site.

Either way, now that I have my VCP 5 out of the way I can hopefully attempt to get some advanced certifications around vSphere 4 taken care of.

***Disclaimer: The thoughts and views expressed on VirtualNoob.wordpress.org and Chad King in no way reflect the views or thoughts of his employer or any other views of a company. These are his personal opinions which are formed on his own. Also, products improve over time and some things maybe out of date. Please feel free to contact us and request an update and we will be happy to assist. Thanks!~

About Chad King

I am an IT professional working in the industry for over 10 years. Starting in Microsoft Administration and Solutions I was also a free lance consultant for small businesses. Since I first saw virtualization I have always been fascinated by the concept. I currently specialize in VMware technology. I consult daily on many different types of VMware Solutions. I have experience in all domains related to virtualization and cloud solutions. From help desk, administration, engineering, implementation, and design allowing me to provide creative solutions with the understanding and gaps at all levels.

Posted on February 10, 2012, in Certifications, Troubleshooting, vSphere 5 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment