Update vSphere 5 – My two cents err problems

What’s the deal man?

Well to be honest I have ran into two very specific issues and what I want to iterate is how crucial it is to review updates before just deploying a normal vSphere 5 implementation. First off, I want to say that in the middle of my experience with performing the upgrade to vSphere 5 the release of Update 1 occurred. So with that being said comes the dilemma. Coordinating the update process and procedure should always be critical. You should also do your due diligence and review the updates along with bugs. I have to honestly give credit to the VMware Community which has definitely allowed me to identify problems before hand and how to avoid and workaround those. Now on to my issues.

Issue Number 1:Broken sVmotion (Storage Migration)

Well, this one was obvious but being the optimist I am didn’t think I would run into this little issue. However it appears to be a ESXi special feature for vSphere 5! I would highly recommend reviewing the following issues if you are having problems performing storage vMotions on vSphere 5/vCloud 1.5. I believe it is actually an issue with the ESXi hypervisor because prior to Update 1 there was a patch you could install on your ESXi box. Please see the following references for resolution:
http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=2012122

FIX? > Install UPDATE 1 or ESXi Patch 2

Issue Number 2: vCenter Network Alarm Feature!

So, key words to stress in this issue is probably one that makes many CRINGE. Test and Prod should always be the SAME > We all know how important that is but SERIOUSLY how many of us actually MIRROR everything even the alarms? This is more of an issue with standards and procedures then anything… again I am reminded of the 9 parts planning and 1 part implementing or the “Your poor planning doesn’t account for an emergency on my part”.

If the following statement doesn’t tell you what happened then this KB most certainly can.. 🙂
http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=2007231

FIX? > Yeah just the read the kb its quite ridiculous… oh wait just install update 1?

So, I am writing this tell you that I would recommend applying or using the in place upgrade for vSphere 5 Upate 1. Oh, and just so you know I warned it still doesn’t support the following build number:

NOTE: I would highly recommend to updating from vanilla 4.1 to avoid the special VMware feature of PSOD.

Last but not least I equally thought it would be important to highlight a video that we can all share and relate to when facing unexpected results…. It’s not exactly the same but I can definitely relate to the frustrations..

Enjoy!

About Chad King

I am an IT professional working in the industry for over 10 years. Starting in Microsoft Administration and Solutions I was also a free lance consultant for small businesses. Since I first saw virtualization I have always been fascinated by the concept. I currently specialize in VMware technology. I consult daily on many different types of VMware Solutions. I have experience in all domains related to virtualization and cloud solutions. From help desk, administration, engineering, implementation, and design allowing me to provide creative solutions with the understanding and gaps at all levels.

Posted on April 24, 2012, in Daily Ramblings, Troubleshooting, vOperations, vSphere 5 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

