VMware Certification Journey – Where is yours going?

I recall a bit over a year ago I attained my first VMware certification VCP4 and definitely viewed it as a milestone. The company I was working for didn’t make a point to spend a whole lot of cash on getting people certified and I honestly was one of the few lucky ones that got to take part in the class. Then, it was the VMware fast track and I have to say, it was definitely a fun class.

This year it also seems that I am lucky yet again because VMware is offering the VCP 5 without having to take a what’s new class as of now. This will expire early next year in February. With that being said I cannot help but wonder how this would affect the current value of VMware Certified Professional on vSphere 5. Although, VMware has potentially saved other corporations, contractors, and consultants thousands of dollars in training it doesn’t mean that at the same time there could be a hit on the value of the VCP5 certification versus the VCP4. I can honestly wonder what would really prevent anyone from just downloading a dump and getting an easy breezy VCP certification for close to nil of what it used to cost?

Though I am thankful for the opportunity many may or may not make a point to really master or learn vSphere 5 before taking that test and getting the VCP5. This would result in a  lower overall value of the VCP certification, IMHO. I personally like the fact that I have to go to training, but there again many businesses cannot always put up that kind of cash.. especially some of the SMB companies out there.

I sometimes cannot help but wonder with all the cool new features if this too also helps SMB’s even further by making the transition to vSphere 5 that much easier. Cheaper training a guess came at the added cost of licensing – yeah pretty ironic right? After all they did set that limit to attain the certification by a certain date and I am sure that not all VCPs will just go study a dump per se.

As of now though you can really get a gage on what the national average is for a VCP currently in the United States:

Image courtesy of Indeed 🙂 – still a good time to be a VCP 😉

As you can see it seems to have steadied out for now but it definitely was on decline up until around the vSphere 5 announcement. Anyways, my only point was really the value of that certification and right now it still seems like a golden opportunity to upgrade this certification and not to mention that sweet little 25% discount as well offered to even make the test cheaper.

With that being said I will kind of share my goals as of now:

  • VCP5 (this month)
  • VCA-DT or VCP-DT (probably VCP since VCA is really not a strong value imo)
  • VCAP-DCA (6 months)
  • re-evaluate certifications (maybe new or old ones)
  • VCAP-DCD (TBD)
  • Eventually maybe VCDX (In the next two years)

Obviously it still more VMware centric, I wouldn’t even mind picking up a CCNA between the VCP 5 and VCAP-DCD just to enforce my network knowledge. Since I know work with CiscoUCS it may not be a bad idea to also look at those certifications if I do get a CCNA.

So what is your certification plan and where are you going?

***Disclaimer: The thoughts and views expressed on VirtualNoob.wordpress.com and Chad King in no way reflect the views or thoughts of his employer or any other views of a company. These are his personal opinions which are formed on his own. Also, products improve over time and some things maybe out of date. Please feel free to contact us and request an update and we will be happy to assist. Thanks!~

About Cwjking

I am an IT professional working in the industry for over 10 years. Starting in Microsoft Administration and Solutions I was also a free lance consultant for small businesses. Since I first saw virtualization I have always been fascinated by the concept. I currently specialize in VMware technology. I consult daily on many different types of VMware Solutions. My current role is hands on administration, technical design, and consulting.

Posted on November 18, 2011, in VCP 5 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good post and best of luck on your certification journey. I just completed both VCAPs in a short period of time which is NOT suggested but was rewarding. I’ve considered VCDX but may have to wait and submit for VCDX5 2nd half of 2012 or early 2013. Depends on time really. Good luck!

    • Josh, Thanks for the comments man. This has been something I have been thinking a lot about. I am going for the VCP 5 in January and then I am going for my VCAP on vSphere 4.

      Good luck to you on the VCDX journey… That is quite the milestone 🙂

  2. Hi All,

    i got 2 voucher that give 25 % exam discount for VCP5 and VCAP-DCA as well …

    for VCA and VCP the voucher is : VM0093409F19

    for the VCAP the voucher is: VA018F977474

    it’s working, have fun and best of luck

Leave a Reply

